Book 1:  Searcher of the Dead

​​In Tudor England, herbalist Bess Ellyott flees London after her husband is murdered, but the peace she has found in the quiet Wiltshire countryside is short-lived. Her brother-in-law, a prosperous merchant, is himself found dead—dangling from a tree, an apparent suicide. Clues suggest otherwise to Bess, but can she trust the town constable to help her find the truth?

Christopher Harwoode will cross members of his own family to find the killer…whose next target may very well be Queen Elizabeth I herself.




A Mystery of Old San Francisco

"With richly detailed settings and quickly moving dialogue, Herriman smoothly invokes sixteenth-century Britain... Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Peters and Amanda Quick."

~ Booklist  'A Fall of Shadows'

"Entertaining...readers who like independent heroines should welcome this historical series." 
​     ~ Publisher's Weekly

"An intriguing mystery...Highly recommended!" 

Historical Novel Society  May 2018—Editors’ Choice, 'Searcher of the Dead'

Send me an e-mail to be added to my newsletter list!

​​​​​Book 2:  No Pity for the Dead

When the Irish orphan Celia Davies has befriended stumbles upon a corpse—and the husband of Celia’s closest friend becomes a suspect—she turns to Detective Nick Greaves. The husband, though, is an old enemy of Nick’s. Can they put aside their personal feelings about the case—and each other—in order to bring a killer to justice?

Book 2:  A Fall of  Shadows

Coming April 2019!


A troupe of players has arrived in Bess's town, a welcome diversion from recent talk of witches. When one of the men is found dead on a mound rumored to once have harbored a Druid temple, the villagers are terrified. Constable Harwoode learns the actor had many enemies, but could the bleeding woman who arrived at Bess's door that same night have the answer to the man's murder? And can Bess discover the truth before others fall victim to the descending fear and darkness?



Book 1: No Comfortfor the Lost 

When one of Celia Davies’ Chinese patients mysteriously drowns, she fears the crime will go unsolved. Detective Nick Greaves, however, demands justice. Their search for the killer will take them from Chinatown to the Barbary Coast to the city’s gilded parlors. And entangle them both in a potentially fatal conspiracy.

Author of        A Mystery of Old San Francisco

                               A Bess Ellyott Mystery 

​​​​​Book 3:  No Quiet among the Shadows
Coming Spring, 2020!

A Bess Ellyott Mystery

​   ​Nancy Herriman  

​​

Also join me and my fellow Sleuths at Sleuths in Time on Facebook! 

Additional praise:


"This is the book Agatha Christie would have written if she had worn a farthingale."
​     ~ Deanna Raybourn, NYT  bestselling author on Searcher of the Dead


"Herriman’s sequel to 2015’s No Comfort for the Lost brings 1867 San Francisco to vivid life."
​     ~ Publisher's Weekly review of No Pity for the Dead


"Herriman crafts a finely detailed series debut with a sympathetic protagonist and impeccable, colorful depictions of 1860s San Francisco..." 
​     ~ Library Journal starred review of No Comfort for the Lost 


"You'll be transported back to old San Francisco as you walk those dangerous streets with Celia Davies, who has dedicated herself to saving lives but ends up seeking justice for the helpless."

    ~ Victoria Thompson, bestselling author of The Gaslight Mysteries